Foto Story Friday #140—unc and his tutu

A little while ago, I made a tutu.  A man sized tutu! It was then mailed to Las Vegas to Unc.

man sized tutu

Are you wondering why I would make a tutu for a man?  And my Uncle at that?  Well, let me see if I can paint the setting……

Troy n Unc

Meet Unc, here he is visiting innocently with his nephew and my husband, Troy….. he’s a funny character, I liked him from the day I met him.  Ya see, he’s married to Troy’s Aunt Claudia.  So while they were up visiting in September for Nana’s  birthday, he was joking and saying how he is the house husband and he just puts on his tutu and does the chores.  Then he went off to the kitchen to do the dishes.

In early December, we went down to Vegas for Nana’s funeral and we spent a wonderful 5 days with them.  He really does do chores and he continued to tell us he just needed a pink tutu while we watched him clean the tops of the kitchen cabinets.  I told him I would make him one.  I’m  pretty sure he  didn’t think I’d really make one.

With a little assistance from my Father-in-law (he picked up the materials for me in Billings) I set to work creating a tutu.  I did need a little help from Aunt Claudia.  I sent an email asking: “Hey about how big is Unc’s waist?  Making him a pink tutu!”

her reply: “You’re BAD!!  But funny!  40″  and it’ll stay secret…  Love you guys!  Aunt C”

I posted the finished product to Aunt Claudia’s facebook page and then it went out in the mail a few days later.  I hear he got quite the kick out of it when the package arrived.  Oh, how I wish I could have seen his face when he opened the box to find a pink tutu just his size inside!  They promised to send a photo or at least post one to facebook of Unc working in his tutu.  Waiting was torture!  We (Shantel and I) did leave a few hints to Aunt Claudia that we were waiting on pins and needles, so to speak, to see the tutu in action.  Last night, as I was checking in with facebook just before turning in, I saw it….. the photo I’d been waiting for:

tutu in action

I don’t know about you, but I’m sure this photo will make me laugh and bring a smile to my face till the day I leave this life behind! 🙂 Oh it has gotten some great comments!  I’ll share them:

Claudia ‎…the rest of the story: When Carrie & Troy stayed with us in Dec. Byron kept making smart remarks about “I’m just the maid, put a tutu on me.” Carrie said she was making him a tutu, & she did! Byron has been bugging me to get a pix up for her ~ he loves the joke! Isn’t he the best? ♥

Megan I love that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Byron is always a good sport!

Jennifer Love it! That’s totally a keeper!

Kelli OMG I almost peed myself! Thanks for sharing LOL LOL LOL

Mary It isn’t every man that can carry off a tutu like that! AWESOME Mr. Byron…and yes, you are a great sport!

Carrie  Keiser This totally MADE my day! Seriously I have a smile a mile wide! 🙂 and I did laugh right out loud!! Pink IS his color

Page Byron…that is um….well….urgh…uh…real special…

Claudia Page, he really is a special guy – and a HOOT!!

Page I hate it when a guy’s legs look better than mine!

Carrie Keiser No one rocks a tutu like Unc! 🙂

James Nice outfit for work, in the summer.

Susan Hahahahah boss in a tutu…..OMG I am speechless LOL haven’t had my second cup yet

Dana My eyes! My eyes! LOL

Page I’m really not sure how I’ll ever sit down to dinner with Byron….

Donna I love this so much!!

Gary OMG FELL OUT THE CHAIR LAUGHING. TELL Byron THANK YOU FOR THE LAUGHS

All of my kids enjoyed seeing their Unc in the tutu!  smiles and laughs all around the table!  I’m So glad he can and does enjoy a good joke and that he is man enough for pink tutus!

PhotoStory Friday
Hosted by Cecily and Lolli

About liveinthebadlands

I am a mother of 6 wonderful kids, wife to one great guy, sister to 7 and a photographer.
This entry was posted in Family Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Foto Story Friday #140—unc and his tutu

  1. Page Lewis says:

    Well written Carrie. I think the whole family was stricken at some point with a wicked sense of humor! Must be catchin’ too cause folks who married-in have it too!

  2. Jenny says:

    That is the funniest thing I’ve seen in a long time! What a great personality to go along with that! Too much!

  3. Aunt Claudia says:

    He really is the best! He has brought a smile to my face since I was 15 years old…and we will celebrate our 41st anniversary on Valentine’s Day. And yes people ~ the picture setup was his idea! Love this guy so much! ♥

  4. scrappysue says:

    FANTASTIC!!! just love it – what a fun loving guy!

  5. OMGoodness! What a great guy. We need more Uncs in the world, for sure. LOVE it.

  6. Sharon says:

    That is just too FUNNY! What a good sport for playing along too. 🙂

  7. Amy says:

    What a great attitude! A funny memory (and a photo to laugh at) for your family to pass down for generations. 🙂

  8. Cecily R says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHA! Made my morning!

Leave a Reply

