Foto Story Friday #157–How did this happen?

Somehow I became old!  OK, well, not me, but my kids sure got old when I wasn’t looking!  I don’t really feel much older than I did the day my first born arrived.

new mom

Here I am with Cody, he’s only a few days old.

almost 17

Here he is at nearly 17, so grown up looking and well I guess he is growing up….. almost considered an adult!

Recent thoughts posted on Facebook:

“Today I read through some letters Troy and I exchanged just before we got married, they brought a smile to my face! 🙂 a nice walk down memory lane.”

“Just enjoyed the last choir concert of the year and watched my daughter get her letter! Way to go Shantel! :)”

“Has big kids, Cody and Shantel, off in Billings at a tri-stake youth dance. Man, does that bring back memories from high school! :)”

“Laughing with Cody and Shantel about their stories from the dance last night. So fun to listen to them and to remember my own dance stories!”

“Officially has 3 teenagers! Happy birthday to my Savanna!”

“Because I desire to keep my kids safe and want the best for them, often I try to protect them and in doing so, deny them the chances to grow and learn. I need to remember that I have given them the tools to make correct decisions and pray that they do. It’s a hard mom lesson.. Let them grow and give them the space to do so.”

Shantel and I

Shantel and I when she was about 10 months old.

15 1/2

And here she is at 15 1/2 …. she’s taking driver’s ed and will soon be old enough to date!

Savanna…

savanna in the hospital

I remember well this day and now she’s a teenager!

Teenager!

How exactly did I get 3 teenagers?

isn’t he just the cutest?

the smile

Still cute, but how can he be 11 1/2?

1 year old

The twins at one….now they are almost 7!

handsome lil man

Scott ready to conquer the summer and take on 2nd grade.

such a poser

EmmaLece is SO full of life and energy and just everything!

I watch them grow and change and I know how old they are, but recently the years seem to have caught up with me!  When the 2 oldest kids went to Billings for the dance and service project, it hit me that 20 years earlier, I was the one going to the youth dances.  That 20 years ago I had just met the man I would marry 2 years later!  I have a hard time letting my kids be grown up and make their own decisions.  20 years ago I spent the summer with my sister in Salt Lake, babysitting her kids, driving her vehicles, hanging out with my cousin and going on dates.  I have a hard time letting my son drive across the little town we live in or driving to a neighboring town.  I need to face the facts that they are growing up and while I still need to let them know I am the mom and that they do have rules to follow, I also need to let them stretch their wings and make decisions….. oh it is tough!

Give me your best shot at Better in BulkPhotoStory Friday
Hosted by Cecily and Lolli

About liveinthebadlands

I am a mother of 6 wonderful kids, wife to one great guy, sister to 7 and a photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Foto Story Friday #157–How did this happen?

  1. Cecily R says:

    Time DOES fly, doesn’t it? Well, if those kids of yours have to grow up, it’s nice that they’re growing up so well. 🙂

  2. kaye says:

    I wish someone would explain it to me too. thanks for stopping by.

  3. Time does go fast, but remember to live in the present too. I find myself moping in the past and about how fast it is gone instead of enjoying the present! I can tell by those photos that you are indeed enjoying the present. Beautiful family!

  4. Yes they sure can make you feel old. It just seems like yesterday that I was a kid calling my elders old. Where does time go? Thanks for stopping by. It’s nice to meet you.

  5. There’s a lot to be said for enjoying each season to the full, for it really is only for a season. We currently have four teenagers and four younger. I’m enjoying the changing seasons.

  6. golightly says:

    Funny how time just sneaks away from you and suddenly your kids (and the kids you once babysat) are an age that you sometimes think you still are! It’s hard to let them fly, now I know what my own mother must have felt as she let me go. I have a new found respect for her courage.
    What a wonderful family you have!

Leave a Reply

