Foto Story Friday # 204– On a shelf

From the Lens Pro To Go Blog:  “This week’s theme is “On A Shelf“, think of the opportunities! I’m sure if you look around your studio, home or office you can find something really interesting to photograph. Maybe put something on a shelf that doesn’t really belong? Create a shelf out of something unexpected? Get creative with this!”

I knew right away what the subject of this week’s challenge would be, my bottles…. well a few of them.  The trick was the shelf part!

I settled on this one.

These bottles were my Grampa Sam’s. Growing up we had bottles lining our windows that he’d given to my parents. Grampa collected bottles at ghost towns (before it was illegal), dumps, abandoned buildings and fields. He would research each one and if he learned something mark the bottle as you can see two in the photo are written on. When Grampa came to our house he would inspect the bottles, checking to see which ones had colored more in the time between his visits. Old glass colors in the sunlight. Grampa could tell you where he found each bottle. Every window in his home was lined usually three shelves high with his bottles. Grampa passed away when I was 16 and Gramma started urging us grandkids to come pick our favorites. To have the bottles as a physical reminder of my Grampa is amazing. I could feel him helping me pick the right bottles for the project.

Give me your best shot at Better in BulkPhotoStory Friday
Hosted by Cecily and Lolli

About liveinthebadlands

I am a mother of 6 wonderful kids, wife to one great guy, sister to 7 and a photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

